Bitcoin Foundation Election Headed into a Runoff

bitcoin board election
Bitcoin Foundation Election Headed into a Runoff
Rate this post

NEW YORK (InsideBitcoins) — The Bitcoin Foundation has announced the results of its board election and four candidates are headed into a runoff election.

The official results, as provided by the Foundation, are:

Candidate/# of Votes (% Approval, out of 323 votes cast)

Olivier Janssens 151 (46.7%)
Jim Harper 133 (41.2%)
Bruce Fenton 100 (30.9%)
Michael Perklin 97 (30%)
Francis Pouliot 79 (24.4%)
Cody Wilson 69 (21.3%)
Colin Gallagher 63 (19.5%)
Jeremy Gardner 62 (19.1%)
Vinny Lingham 58 (17.9%)
Dima Starodubcev 51 (15.7%)
Scott Morgan 50 (15.4%)
Bayan Towfiq 46 (14.2%)
Theo Chino 31 (9.5%)
Withhold 5 (1.5%)
Do Not Approve 5 (1.5%)

“Given that none of the candidates received at least 50% of the vote, we will be holding a runoff election for the two individual board seats,” wrote Jinyoung Lee Englund, director or marketing and communications, in a blog post. “The four candidates that received the most number of votes will be available for selection in this runoff election.”

The top four candidates are:

Olivier Janssens
Jim Harper
Bruce Fenton
Michael Perklin

The Foundation is re-opening registration for any annual or lifetime members who want to register to vote in the runoff. Bitcoin Foundation annual and lifetime members will receive an email with the link to register. Members that had registered for the election just completed do not need to re-confirm their qualification to vote in the runoff.

Registration begins today and will be open through Monday, February 23, 2015 at 11:59pm EST.

The runoff election will take place from Tuesday, February 24, 2015 to Friday, February 27, 2015 at 11:59pm EST. The winners will be announced on Saturday, February 28, 2015. If two candidates do not receive at least 50% of the vote, then the organization will have another runoff election.

About Inside Bitcoins